Beef and Veggie Rice Wraps

This recipe serves 2 hungry people (approximately 6-8 wraps) and can be easily adapted to serve more or less. And once you get the hang of making the wraps they take no time to make. This recipe takes about 20 minutes to make, start to finish.

Ingredients:

  • 0.3 k beef strips (more or less depending on how many people are eating)*
  • 1/2 lime, juiced
  • 1 tsp sweet chili sauce
  • 1 tsp hot chili sauce or hot sauce
  • 1 large carrot, peeled and sliced into sticks
  • 1/2 large cucumber, sliced into sticks, seeds removed
  • 1 handful of bean sprouts
  • 1 handful of basil or mint leaves

*Beef can be replaced with shrimp or chicken with no alteration to the process and with great results. Marinated tofu is also quite good.

First I saute the beef strips in a small amount of olive oil, adding the sweet chili sauce, lime juice, and hot chili sauce to the pan and thoroughly coating the beef strips, continue sauteing the beef until completely cooked through.

Beef and Veggie Rice Wraps1

Next, I slice up all the veggies and place them on a plate. Then I separate the basil leaves (or mint) from the stems and lay the leaves on the plate with the veggies.

Beef and Veggie Rice Wraps2

Then I take a deep plate (one with a raised edge) and pour warm water into it. Next, I place one rice wrap in the water until it is slightly sticky and pliable. Then I remove the rice wrap from the water and place it on a cutting board or a large plate.

Beef and Veggie Rice Wraps3

Beef and Veggie Rice Wraps4

Next I add the basil, then the veggies, then a single strip of beef.

Beef and Veggie Rice Wraps5

I gently roll up the outer edges of the wrap and then roll the front of the wrap over the veggies and then using my fingers to hold the veggies in place I roll up the rest of the wrap making a complete rice roll.

I continue doing this until all the ingredients are used up. Then I pour a little bit of sweet Thai chili sauce on a plate, slice the wraps in half and enjoy!

Beef and Veggie Rice Wraps10

6 thoughts on “Beef and Veggie Rice Wraps

Leave a comment